Pinch Me Now I Must Be Dreaming.

Sometimes you are in the right place at the right time. Is it luck? My dad would say, “luck is where preparation meets opportunity.” Well this weekend I had an amazing opportunity, and I don’t think anything could have prepared me for this experience.

As you may or may not know I am in Queensland Australia for 6 weeks doing a research project at James Cook University through the Columbia Summer Teacher Research Program.  This is an amazing opportunity which I am so grateful. I am here with another teacher from New York City (Check out her blog)

This weekend P. told me about an opportunity to volunteer on Orpheus Island in exchange for a boat ride to the island, and a place to stay in the dorms. I filled out the paper work, and they had a spot for me to volunteer from Friday-Monday. My lab encouraged me to go and said my experience would be the highlight of my trip to Australia. I didn’t realize how true those word were. I rented a car and drove Friday afternoon to the port in Lucinda about 200km from Townsville. I boarded the Challenger with my food for four days, my backpack, and my snorkeling gear (provided by JCU dive club 5mm wetsuit, fins, mask, snorkel, and reef shoes). Somebody pinch me.

The Challenger research catamaran.

Salty sea air and Hinchinbrook Island National Park in the distance.

The boat ride over Friday afternoon.

The sunset from Orpheus Island.

 

Comments
4 Responses to “Pinch Me Now I Must Be Dreaming.”
  1. Paige says:

    SO great Chris, can’t wait to hear about it. I would a millon times over loved to journey the island. Enjoy your last week and say a big hi to Cam!

Trackbacks
Check out what others are saying...
  1. […] 1: PINCH ME NOW I MUST BE DREAMING Sailing away from Pioneer bay. Zuzu is researching sea sponges. In the background is Hichinbrook. […]



Leave a Reply

