hill climb, sunset, latte

After work Pip picked up Paige (link to Paige’s blog) and I and we went into Townsville to climb castle hill. Hill is a bit deceiving because at nearly 300 meters it is less than a meter short of a mountain. It is a giant granite monolith, and is dab smack in the center of the city. From the top you can see Magnetic Island, the Coral Sea, the city of Townsville, and surrounding country side. Because of our time of day we also were able to take in a sunset. I’m not sure if it was the endorphins from the climb, the beautiful weather here in winter, or the view but from the top of the hill; I felt as if I hadn’t a care in the world.

What a view!

Pip got a call that her son was sick so rather than hike down we ran. Actually I can best describe it as a controlled fall. It was exciting bounding from rock to rock. Truth be told I had a hard time keeping up with Pip and Paige.

Paige and I wandered through the night market on the Strand, and then went to the sweatshop for an amazing latte.

Great Atmosphere. Great Latte. YUMO!

Comments
4 Responses to “hill climb, sunset, latte”
  1. emma says:

    Australia seems so magical to me. Anything labeled granite monolith seems pretty magical, too.

    I love running down mountain trails – I’m never sure I’ll be able to stop in time if necessary!

    • Mr. Chopp says:

      Emma, there were defiantly times when I wasn’t sure if I could stop but that made it exciting. I like that thinking of a “granite monolith” was magical to you too!

  2. Bethel Mwenze says:

    Australia’s sunset is beautiful and the granite monolith makes it a marvelous view

Leave a Reply

