Introductions

Today was my first day in the lab. I will introduce the people I will be working with in order of appearance. I arrived at the lab this morning at 8:00 am. By this time I had been up for 4 hours because I couldn’t sleep. Stan and Kirsten were smoking cigarettes and drinking their morning coffee. Stan is the lab manager and Kirsten is the primary investigator. Kirsten is originally from Germany. I then met Kate who is from Boston. I met Megan from Tennessee. I also met Vanan from Singapore, and Carlos form Spain. They are working on a project for bio-remediation. I met Reino who works on the R&D site, and Florian who is Swiss and is a PhD student. Tomo is Japanese and is working on Algae genetics, Heather is an Aussie, Cathy is a botanist from France who is on sabbatical, and Leanne is also an Aussie, and a PhD student.

The pace of the day is really great. We have morning coffee, then work for a few of hours, then take a coffee break, then work for a couple hours, then take lunch. Then we work for a couple hours and have another coffee break. Then work for a few more hours. Having coffee/cigarette break really builds a sense of community within the lab.

Day 1 project

Our first “big” project was to move the laminar flow hood into a lab on the second floor. First the pallet was too big, then the jack was too wide, and then the door was too narrow… you get the picture.

A couple hours later and a long circuitous route which involved 5-6 people pushing the 130cm rectangular prism down the road, and across a gravel parking lot we succeeded in bringing the laminar flow hood to its new hood.

Food update: The Satsuma was sweet and seedy. The rambutan was very similar to a lychee with fleshy fruit and a clingy pit. The tiny banana was a bit starchy and firm. I still have not tried the sapote, so stay tuned.

Nature update: On the way to dinner bounding across the cricket field were three wallabies! I did not get to snap a picture, but I will try to again in the morning. I really felt like I was in Australia. I saw bush turkeys digging.

A pair of nock kneed curlew and several peewee birds.

Comments
One Response to “Introductions”
  1. Dennis Howard says:

    It looks like a great place to be and the work very interesting. Enjoy!

Leave a Reply

